Water

Occupying more than 70% of the Earth’s surface and more than ²/3rd of the human body; in its simplest form, we need it for everything. 

For the past few days, its been the talk in my office of this “Chinese Water Therapy”. I’ve been ignoring the talk, because, to me it was just another fad, which would soon die out.

However, I was doing some research on how to make some natural products (yes look out for my beauty line soon guys) and in doing so, I realized how important water is as an ingredient in our products, yet the presence of it can be so harmful. As a result, the inspiration for this post came to me.

I dug a little deeper in this “Chinese Water Therapy” thing and after all my research this is what it is:

—EXCERPT—

It is popular in Japan today to drink water immediately after waking up every morning. Furthermore, scientific tests have proven its value. We publish below a description of use of water for our readers. For old and serious diseases as well as modern illnesses the water treatment had been found successful by a Japanese medical society as a 100% cure for the following diseases:

Headache, body ache, heart system, arthritis, fast heart beat, epilepsy, excess fatness, bronchitis asthma, TB, meningitis, kidney and urine diseases, vomiting, gastritis, diarrhoea, piles, diabetes, constipation, all eye diseases, womb, cancer and menstrual disorders, ear nose and throat diseases.

Method of Treatment
• As you wake up in the morning before brushing teeth, drink 4 x 160ml glasses of water.
• Brush and clean the mouth but do not eat or drink anything for 45 minutes.
• After 45 minutes you may eat and drink as normal.
• After 15 minutes of breakfast, lunch and dinner do not eat or drink anything for 2 hours.
• Those who are old or sick and are unable to drink 4 glasses of water at the beginning may commence by taking little water and gradually increase it to 4 glasses per day.

The above method of treatment will cure diseases of the sick and others can enjoy a healthy life.

The following list gives the number of days of treatment required to cure main diseases:
1. High Blood Pressure – 30 days
2. Gastric – 10 days
3. Diabetes – 30 days
4. Constipation – 10 days
5. Cancer – 180 days
6. TB – 90 days

Arthritis patients should follow the above treatment for only 3 days in the 1st week, to be followed by daily treatment. This treatment method has no side effects, however at the commencement of treatment you may have to urinate a few times.

—END OF EXCERPT—

So, I can’t say I was impressed or moved any at all by this but it did encourage me to share this post on water with my readers.

Water is endlessly beneficial to us, and it provides more benefits than disadvantages, to my knowledge anyway. I am personally in love with water (if you haven’t guessed by now, I’m in love with health :)). I have seen what water can do for us as human beings, through my friends and yes I can testify myself how it has changed my life.

There was a point in my life when my hair was breaking and getting thin. And my hairdresser asked me one question that made me both embarrassed and enlightened: “How often do you drink water?” I was appalled, because I was an upcoming nutrition professional and she was a hairdresser ( no offense to hairdressers of course but you get my drift) Yes! a lack of water does show, even in the condition of your hair!

With that said, here are a FEW of the purposes water has to our bodies daily:

Healthy Skin :

I have mentioned in one of my previous posts You ARE what you eat that what you take in your body ultimately determines your health status. Likewise, consuming water, you are hydrating your body and in turn you hydrate your skin. We live in a temperate climate and we are at a constant battle with the heat the sun produces. If we don’t keep our bodies constantly hydrated, this can in turn cause our skin to become dry and cracked, resulting in the flakes we sometimes get on our skin and, yes, even the wrinkles are as a result of dry skin. So one of the cheapest beauty products we can invest in is to drink at least 8- 8oz glasses of water in any given 24 hr period.

Body Temperature :

Obviously, right? When you’re hot, you drink water, you get thirsty because your body is dehydrated right? Then our bodies need water to regulate our body temperature. When we feel hot, our bodies produce perspiration to cool our bodies down, and perspiration is water, we are loosing water, so we need to put it back right?

Flush Toxins :

We inhale and exhale toxins everyday. We also accumulate toxins through the foods that we eat. Water flushes our bodies through a system that is set up with out kidneys to remove toxins through urination. (Some is also removed through perspiration)

Lubrication :

Water acts as that fuel for the lubrication in our joints. It helps with that free movement that is needed and it has been shown that sufficient intake of water, before, moderately during, and after exercise can reduce the likelihood of us getting muscle cramps. Water also acts as a medium to pass our food along our digestive system.

Constipation :

Water helps to soften our stool, partly due to its role in lubricating our colon. Fibre intake allows our bodies to make the bulk of our stool, but without adequate fluids, will result in constipation. So if you have problems with constipation, the best medication is, yup you guessed it! Drink at least 8- 8oz glasses of water in any given 24 hr period.

Oxygen Levels :

Water constitutes a great amount of your blood volume (obviously, right?) And as a result, once your body is adequately hydrated, your heart and lungs will work effectively to supply blood and oxygen to your body’s cells, thus making the brain work more effectively and also causing your metabolism to be improved ( in turn burn fat).

My friends will note that if they tell me they have a headache, more times than not I will ask “Have you had any water since morning” and most times the headache is as a result of dehydration. Never wait until you are thirsty to drink water, by then your cells have already started exhaustion of their water content.

I have friends that say that they can’t drink water, because the taste of it upsets them. Or they just don’t like drinking plain water. This one is for you:

lemon water

 

And guys (and girls) I know I haven’t touched all the benefits of drinking water. But above are enough reasons why you should try to drink your 6-8 (8 oz.) glasses each day. So DRINK UP!!!

 

2 thoughts on “Water

  1. It’s funny reading this because my mom use to ensure that we drink water in the morning before we brushed our teeth. The reason for this was because our body produces natural bacteria in our mouths while we sleep and it is important to take it in and not brush it away. This was years ago so you saying this is like wow my mom knew her stuff. I still do it to this day but it’s just a habit I developed from her. There is an experiment you should look up on water which was done by Dr. Masaru Emoto. Check him out. But congrats on your skin line I can’t wait for mine to kick off too 🙂

  2. I definitely will check this guy out. But in response to your mother’s advice; that just goes to show us why it is that our forefathers lived such long lives. Even if they didn’t know the reason they did stuff, they did the right stuff. Thanks for the support and keep up the good work. Hope I can come to visit soon.

Leave a Reply

