Beauty is only skin deep

I haven’t written a post for a while, partly because I’ve been pretty busy lately and also because I have been struggling to find a topic to blog about. BUT!!! Here goes:

“Beauty is only skin deep”. There are gazillion quotes about beauty but, I chose this one today because external beauty is exactly that, its reflected in the appearance of your skin. Which is why models and actresses and all the most physically beautiful people you know; invest, yes, invest in the make up they use. 

Only recently I have become caught up in make up and what it can do for your immediate (outer) appearance. You can check out a blog, a good friend of mine hosts and the AMAZING results make-up can do for a chick: http://www.sunipink.wordpress.com

On the other hand, being a health fanatic, I believe that your natural skin should look beautiful, especially when there is no make up on. So last night, I got tired of the fact that my skin wasn’t looking so much like I wanted it to. I normally do mini facials every now and again to keep my skin looking fresh but I got complacent. Here are the things I used:

  • Brown Sugar
  • Coconut Oil
  • Regular cooking (vegetable oil)
  • Mullein
  • Neem
  • Aloe Vera
  • Vitamin E soft gels

Yea, that’s it.

I used the brown sugar, oils and mullein to make a scrub.

Brown Sugar has a coarse texture, which is normally a property that is needed for a scrub, it might be too coarse for some persons, dependent on the sensitivity of your skin.

Brown Sugar

Coconut Oil is right up there with Aloe Vera, and if you read my post about Aloe: All Over, you’ll know how much I am in love with it as my multi-purpose ingredient. But right now, I’ll just say that I used the coconut oil because it has anti-bacterial, healing and high moisturizing properties. Coconut oil is relatively expensive, which is the only reason I added the vegetable oil, (to give my mixture a little more lubrication.)

Coconut Oil

Mullein, on the other hand, I know MOST of you probably never heard of before. But, I worked in a health store for a couple of months and I bought it for the purpose of my sinusitis. It is an excellent herb for any respiratory related illness, and I thought, umm since it helped in soothing my sinuses, wouldn’t it act similarly if I used it externally as well? Little did I know, it has numerous uses, including the treatment of scrapes, burns and inflammatory skin disorders. You can check out more about mullein right here.

Mullein plant

So, I took like a teaspoon of brown sugar, 2 tablespoons of mullein, and I just poured enough coconut oil to bring it all together (should not in any form be watery) and then I added the vegetable oil just to make sure it would be slippery enough to move over my face. Be careful, no presence of liquid should be obvious, the mixture will look like some grains or lumps of the mullein and sugar, just held together by the oil.

  • I washed my face first (with my regular face soap) then,
  • I took the scrub mixture and started rubbing it in circular motions all over my face, scrubbing gently with an effort to remove any dead skin cells, or any other debris that my soap didn’t remove.
  • DO NOT SCRUB TOO HARD!!!!
  • Then I let it stay on my face for 10 minutes or so, so that my skin could get the benefits from the ingredients.
  • Next, I took a clean rag, put it in my face basin, poured hot water on it, then turned the tap on it and squeezed it out and wiped the scrub off my face. Washed out the rag and wiped off the remaining stuff.

The Aloe Vera and Neem were used to make my awesome mask.

Now, my face looked kinda dry, which is why I chose to include coconut oil in my scrub and that is also one of the reasons I chose to use Aloe Vera.

Aloe Vera (for the purposes of this mask) has cleansing and moisturizing properties and it also has anti-inflammatory properties. A mask is used to treat the skin for any apparent damage that might be caused from everyday wear and tear, exposure to the sun, etc.

Aloe Vera

Neem, although it’s a little more popular than mullein, it might be another ingredient you guys are also be unfamiliar with. Neem, funnily we have many neem trees here in Jamaica. It is an excellent herb and is used for its anti-bacterial and anti-fungal properties. It can even be used as a natural insecticide. Find out more about neem right here. However, I had neem in my cupboard because I had recommended it for my housemate who has eczema, it aids in relieving the itching and if taken internally, can give you a really good cleanse (it’s really bitter though). I used need because I had some pimples coming up and I needed something that had some anti-septic properties.

Neem

  • I put about 2 table spoons of dried neem leaves in a cup, poured some boiling water on it (just enough to cover the leaves) and covered the cup for about 10 minutes.
  • I went and cut a fresh aloe vera leaf, peeled off the skin, cut the jelly part in some cubes, then used my fork and mashed it up and whipped it 🙂
  • Then I poured the neem mixture in the aloe vera and whipped it up.
  • Using a strainer I removed any excess water and I ended up with a slime.
  • I took some of the neem leaves and put it in the mixture as well.
  • I took a warm rag and put it over my face (just to open up my pores to accept the healing properties of the mask)
  • I then rub the slime all over my face, also kinda rubbing it in and then any area that had blemishes or pimples, I put a neem leaf to cover it (remember neem has anti-bacterial and anti-septic properties)
  • I let this stay on for about half hour, be careful, initially the aloe might drip off your chin but eventually it will dry on your face.
  • Then I used my warm rag again to remove the mask. Once for the initial cleanse and a second go to remove any remaining. Then i washed out the rag and then used the cool rag to wipe my face twice to close my pores.

Vitamin E is another one of my beauty staples alongside coconut oil and aloe vera. It has properties which help prevent scarring, or reduce the appearance of scarring, helps clear up blemishes and also treats the skin, helping to combat any unwanted oils and clogged pores (ironic huh? as it is an oil itself) D-Alpha is the one you should use and not Dl-Alpha as that’s the synthetic kind.

  • I used a common pin to pierce 1 or two holes in the soft gel and then squeezed the oil directly on my face ( you can use 2 softgels, you really don’t need anymore.)
  • Rubbed it in as much as possible and slept with it overnight
  • It’s normally recommended you remove treatment and add a moisturizer or sunscreen. But I sought my vitamin E sufficient.

Now I realize I should have taken some before and after pictures. When I woke up this morning I was more than pleased with the results 🙂

Leave a Reply

